Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index Pocket PC FAQ Forums
The place to discuss Windows Mobile, Pocket PCs, Smartphones, Handheld PCs, Windows CE and More!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

REQUIRED: HTC-S710/720/SMT-5800/Pantech Duo owners

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> PocketDOS Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PocketDOS
Administrator


Joined: 11 Oct 2000
Posts: 1705

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:17 am    Post subject: REQUIRED: HTC-S710/720/SMT-5800/Pantech Duo owners Reply with quote

Dear PocketDOS users,

We would like to add a built-in keymap for the above devices to PocketDOS. In order to do this we need to get some information from a user who has or wishes to use PocketDOS on this device.

The information we need is:

1) The value of the "OEM Info" field in the system information displayed by PocketDOS. You can display this information by selecting the "Help->System Information" item from the PocketDOS menu.

2) The output of the SETKEY SHOW command for the following keys:

All keys on the slide-out keyboard.

To provide accurate information, please follow these steps:

2.1) Select "Settings->Keyboard->Options" from the PocketDOS menu.
2.2) Enable the "Enable text entry mode" option.
2.3) Press the "Done" button to save the setting.
2.4) Select "Settings->Keyboard->Mapping" from the PocketDOS menu.
2.5) Select "Reset key mappings" from the menu.
2.6) Confirm by pressing the "Yes" button.
2.7) Press the "OK" button to save the setting.
2.8) If not already in text entry mode, press the left softkey until you see a text entry field in the place of the left softkey text.
2.9) Type SETKEY SHOW and press the <Enter> or <Action> key twice.
2.10) Press the left softkey or type EXITEDIT to exit text entry mode.
2.11) Press the left softkey until the left softkey text reads "Keyboard".

Please provide us with this information ASAP so that we can incorporate the keymap for this device into PocketDOS v1.12.2.

Thank you for your input.
_________________
PocketDOS - Adds DOS compatibility to your Pocket Computer.
http://www.pocketdos.com


Last edited by PocketDOS on Sun Mar 16, 2008 2:56 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Roshua
Pocketeer


Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 2:02 pm    Post subject: I have an S710 Reply with quote

Hi,

I have an S710 (HTC Vox).

Can I still be of assistance with this?


Regards,

Ross
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PocketDOS
Administrator


Joined: 11 Oct 2000
Posts: 1705

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear Sir,

Are there any keys on the slide-out keyboard that do not behave as expected in PocketDOS? If so, please follow the instructions at the top of this topic and provide us with the output of the SETKEY command for the problem keys.

Thank you for your assistance.
_________________
PocketDOS - Adds DOS compatibility to your Pocket Computer.
http://www.pocketdos.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Roshua
Pocketeer


Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 6:48 am    Post subject: S710 Reply with quote

Hi,

The biggest problem with using PocketDOS on the S710 is the fact that you can't send single keypresses straight through, they have to go via the text entry box in the bottom left corner. Pressing the left function key to change the entry mode helps a bit, but then the keys that correspond to numbers (normally by pressing Fn key) are affected by whatever function you have selected.

For example, if I choose "Cap | Num | Scr" mode then the keys "E R T Y" and "S D F G" and "X C V B" all just set the state of Caps lock, Num lock or Scroll lock.

The above would be fine if there was just some other way to switch the text entry box off so that the keys would just pass straight through.


Kindest regards,

Ross
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roshua
Pocketeer


Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 7:01 am    Post subject: No Keyboard option Reply with quote

By the way, if I type "EXITEDIT" then it changes to one of the other functions and when I change the options with the left softkey I don't get an option for "Keyboard" - which is obviously what the solution to this would be.

I'm using the latest version of PocketDOS

Regards,

Ross
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PocketDOS
Administrator


Joined: 11 Oct 2000
Posts: 1705

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear Sir,

It appears as if the "candybar" SmartPhone version of PocketDOS has been installed on your device. This version does not have the "Keyboard" input mode. To install the "landscape" SmartPhone version of PocketDOS, please put the device in landscape mode (by sliding out the keyboard) before installing PocketDOS. If that does not work, then you will need to install that version of PocketDOS manually. To do this:

1) Rename the PocketDOS_1122.exe file to PocketDOS_1122.zip
2) Extract the PocketDOS.arm_wm_spl.CAB file and copy it to your device.
3) Open the CAB file (using File Explorer) on your device, to install PocketDOS.

Thank you for your assistance.
_________________
PocketDOS - Adds DOS compatibility to your Pocket Computer.
http://www.pocketdos.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Roshua
Pocketeer


Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 1:07 am    Post subject: Sorry for the delay Reply with quote

Hi,

Sorry for the delay - I have installed the landscape version of pocketdos now and can report my findings...

The keyboard (in keyboard mode) is far from working correctly. The letters that also double as numeric keys (with Fn button) are always outputting the numeric key values. Eg. instead of "e" I get "0" and instead of "d" I get "4". On the slide out keyboard these keys are highlighted text on a blue background as opposed to the other function keys which are just blue text (which would indicate that they are slightly different in functionality).

Also, none of the Fn keys actually work at all - so I can't get comma or semi-colons for example. More importantly the Shift/Cap key doesn't have any effect either so all letters (that work) are in lower case.

Here is the output of SETKEY SHOW:

Code:
Q(81) W(87) E(48) R(49) T(50) Y(51) U(85) I(73) O(79) P(80) .(190) Bkspc(8)
Shift(238) A(65) S(119) D(52) F(53) G(54) H(72) J(74) K(75) L(76) CurUp(38) CR(13)
Fn(236) Z(90) X(120) C(55) V(56) B(57) Spc(32) N(78) M(77)  CurLef(37) CurDn(40) CurRt(39)


They are the only keycodes I can get from the keyboard using any combination of keys.

The only other keys that give a reading are the "Call End", "Back", "Voice Command" and the "Power" keys...

Call End: 27 (exits SETKEY!)
Back: 8
Voice Command: 195
Power: 196

Interestingly, the Camera button opens the Camera application and the Home key acts a bit like "Alt-Tab" in Windows (switching to the background App) but when I return to PocketDOS (using Back key) the output is showing "Windows virtual keycode: 135".

Another big problem I have experienced is that if I close the keyboard PocketDOS re-orientates the screen nicely - but none of the keys work (it just beeps when you press anything - including the soft keys). When I open the keyboard up again the screen changes to landscape again (and font reverts to 4x4 set) but still none of the keys work. The only way out is to press the Camera button to be able to get to start menu to lauch task manager to terminate PocketDOS....very strange.

Anyway, that's about all I can help with - I hope you are able to sort these problems out soon, I really love the idea of PocketDOS and would love to have it installed and working.

Regards,

Ross
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PocketDOS
Administrator


Joined: 11 Oct 2000
Posts: 1705

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear Sir,

Thank you for this information. Unfortunately, there is no way for PocketDOS to determine the proper outputs for the numeric and shift-type keys on the Smartphone platform. We have included functionality in PocketDOS to allow you to set up the mapping for these keys manually, which can be accessed from the "Settings->Keyboard->Mapping" menu item in PocketDOS.

Where possible, we include keymaps for those devices which we have the key mappings for. In order for us to include a keymap for this device in future versions of PocketDOS, please provide us with the following information:

1) The value of the "OEM Info" field in the system information displayed by PocketDOS. You can display this information by selecting the "Help->System Information" item from the PocketDOS menu.

We will also correct the screen rotation issue (where the keyboard loses focus after the screen rotates) in the next release of PocketDOS.

Thank you for your input.
_________________
PocketDOS - Adds DOS compatibility to your Pocket Computer.
http://www.pocketdos.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Crunch
Pocketeer


Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I have recently bought an HTC S730. It looks like PocketDOS is functioning properly, thanks for this fine piece of software. This is my first smartphone, so I don't know if anything related to PocketDOS is different from the S720. If you anyway need some technical information concerning the device, I might find time in the coming days to provide it.

Regards,

Mr. Crunch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roshua
Pocketeer


Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 12:54 am    Post subject: OEM Info Reply with quote

Hi,

The OEM Info field in System Information says "v1415"

This is because my VOX is a Vodafone (UK) branded model. I suspect you will find there are several variations of the data in this field depending on the provider.

Regards,

Ross
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PocketDOS
Administrator


Joined: 11 Oct 2000
Posts: 1705

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear Sir,

Thank you for this information. We will incorporate this into the next release of PocketDOS.

Thank you for your input.
_________________
PocketDOS - Adds DOS compatibility to your Pocket Computer.
http://www.pocketdos.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> PocketDOS Forum All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Copyright 2001-2010, Chris De Herrera, All Rights Reserved

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group