Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index Pocket PC FAQ Forums
The place to discuss Windows Mobile, Pocket PCs, Smartphones, Handheld PCs, Windows CE and More!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

INFO: List of apps that have been tested w/ PocketDOS v1.09
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> PocketDOS Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 9:57 pm    Post subject: INFO: List of apps that have been tested w/ PocketDOS v1.09 Reply with quote

Hey guys, let's start a thread on listing working apps and games.

My testing environments are as follows :
IPaq 2210, o/c to 530Mhz, Bochs 486DX plugin

Games
=====
Prince of Persia (VGA), fully playable
Gold Axe (VGA), very slow
A-Train (VGA), slow, lower part of the screen has been chopped
Warcraft 1, slow, mouse doesn't work
Cannon Fodder 2, freeze after showing the "Virgin" logo
Settlers 1, mouse doesn't work, lower part of the screen has been chopped
Simcity, playable only in monochrome mode (I have set the EGA bios detection)
Back to top
Pazu
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Missed out this one,

Games
=====
Civilization 1, fully playable, running a little bit slow, tho
Back to top
Pocketlamer
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 4:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Duke Nukem 1 works just fine. (all three episode) Bochs


Back to top
interested
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Working:

King Quest 6 (some display corruption)
King Quest 5 (same as kq6, only works from mounted CF card as C
Eye of the Beholder 2 (fully playable)
Might and Magic Swords of Xeen (fully playable)
Another World
Lure of the Temptress (fully playable)
Dark Seed (lowest part of the screen is covered by keyboard, otherwise good speed)
B.A.T.

Don't work:

Elder Scrolls: Arena
Elder Scrolls: Daggerfall
Ultima 7
Flashback
Leisure Suit Larry 1 VGA / 5
Might and Magic 3
Eye of the Beholder 3
Ultima 8
Back to top
DigitalForce
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My specs: HP Ipaq 2215 Xscale 400mhz

Working
-------
* King's Quest 5 (With sprite junk left behind)

* King's Quest 1, 3 & 4 (Fully playable, but with internal speaker sound is a little slow - Any suggestions? I already put the audio buffer to max)

* Space Quest 2 (Fully playable)

* Countdown by Access Software (Lots of sprite junk left behind)

NOT WORKING
-----------
* Willy Beamish

My games actually ran slower with the FPU or the BOCH plugin. HELP!
Back to top
Ulf
Pocketeer


Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 18
Location: Paris France

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you precise if you use the plugins or not ?

Me Toshiba e800, VGA, O/C 530 Mhz.

Working:
Civilization (playable Slow)
Eye of the beholder 2 VGA. fully playable
Gabriel Knight (BOSCH, too slow no mouse)
Jagged Alliance (BOSCH, too slow)

Don't working:
Transport tycoon
Cannon fodder
Lands of lore


[This message has been edited by Ulf (edited June 04, 2004).]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pocketlamer
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wolfenstein 3D- doesn't work with the Bochs plug-in, actually causes PocketDos to terminate. I tried several configurations but no go.


Back to top
RoadKillDave
Pocketeer


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bards Tale 1 works great in fill color. I love it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DigitalForce
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not using any plugins because for some reason it slows down every game I run -- Am I missing something?
Back to top
Pocketlamer
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Working--

STAR TREK 25th Anniversary edition (bochs)

Amazing!!!! This was the first decent Star Trek computer game. Seems to run like a charm.

Back to top
boeinguy2
Pocketeer


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a Jornada 820 running PocketDOS with the DOSBox emulator. I have a game called Jill of the Jungle which loads and runs but very slowly.

For Pazu: How did you get Atrain to work, I have tried that one under 1.09 and it fails to load at all. It did load but went straight to exit. I added Files=20 and Buffers=20 to the config.sys but that causes the game to fail to load. Under 1.08, it loaded, just exited also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PocketDOS
Administrator


Joined: 11 Oct 2000
Posts: 1705

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear Sirs,

The CPU plug-ins should be used as a last resort if you're not able to load software using the built-in emulator. The DOSBox and Bochs CPU plug-ins are several orders of magnitude slower than the built-in emulator.

Thank you for your interest.

------------------
PocketDOS - Adds DOS compatibility to your Pocket Computer.
http://www.pocketdos.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Pazu
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

boeinguy2:

There are several versions of ATrain, as I remember. I havent do any changes to autoexec for file and buffer, just use all defaults. Mine need to install the game in PocketDOS to select sound and video settings in order to play.
Back to top
ddaavvee72
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can play Might & Magic 3 using this newest version of Pocket DOS. I can't get Xeen to work though. It tells me I dont have any ems memory and I set it to the max setting. Any tips on what I am missing?
Back to top
JimH2887
Pocketeer


Joined: 11 May 2003
Posts: 2
Location: Bethel, CT USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll get off games here for a bit.

Back & Forth 2.11
Word Perfect 5.1
Quicken 8
Lotus Magellan all work fine

Lotus 1-2-3 v. 2.2 works OK, I think, but one of my spreadsheets wouldn't load so I'm not sure

However, the app I consider most critical is Lotus Agenda v. 2. This will work IF Expanded memory is turned off, making the program work pretty slow. If expanded memory is turned on in the program, it proceeds to trash the database that's open. Expanded memory worked OK in PocketDOS 1.08.

Also, there have been a couple of times where I've had to press each key twice to register the keystroke.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> PocketDOS Forum All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Copyright 2001-2010, Chris De Herrera, All Rights Reserved

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group